You are here : Home / Rectors' Assembly and Board of Directors

Rectors’ Assembly and Board of Directors


The LERU was formally established with the signature of the Letter of Intent by the Rectors of the 12 founding universities on 5 July 2002 in Leiden. At the same time, they determined the need for the Rectors’ Assembly as the highest decision-making body of the League. But they also determined the need for formation of a Coordinating Group consisting of three members – President and two Vice-Presidents who will also supervise the Secretary-General taking care for everyday management and administration.

By the end of the year 2002, the Rectors’ Assembly met again in Leuven in Milan to discuss how the LERU will carry out its goals and agreed to meet twice every year. Since then, the biannual meetings of the Rectors’ Assembly are the most notable events of the LERU. The Coordinating Group meanwhile evolved into the Board of Directors consisting of the Chair and two members. They are chosen from the Rectors’ Assembly and make decisions in urgent matters as well as outline the strategy of the League in cooperation with the Rectors’ Assembly.

Current members of the Board of Directors are:

Bernd Huber (1960). Professor of Economics and President of the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich is acting as the Chair of the Board of Directors since 2009. In addition to being active in the educational field in both Germany and the LERU, Professor Huber is also a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Federal Ministry of Finance since 1999.

Malcolm Grant (1947). Provost and President of the University College London since 2003 is member of the Board of Directors since 2009 as well. From 1993 to 2001, he was Head of the Department of Land Economy at the University of Cambridge and then became Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the University. In 2003, he left Cambridge for the University College London became its Provost and President. He is also an Honorary Member of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, Honorary Member of the Royal Town Planning Institute, Honorary Member of the New Zealand Resource Management Law Association and Bencher of Middle Temple. From 2000 to 2005, he also served as Chair of the Agriculture & Environment Biotechnology Commission and the Chair of the UK Independent Steering Board for the Public Debate on Genetically modified foods between 2002 and 2003. Before he became a member of the LERU’s Board of Directors, Grant was also Chair of the Russel Group.

Alain Beretz (1954). The President of the University of Strasbourg is the third member of the LERU’s Board of Directors. Before re-creation of the University of Strasbourg, he was Professor of Pharmacology at the University of Louis Pasteur, member of the faculty council from 1993 to 2007, Deputy Director from 1999 to 2002 and President from 2007 and 2008. In December of 2008, Professor Beretz became the first President of the University of Strasbourg that was re-established by fusion of the Louis Pasteur University, Marc Bloch University and Robert Schuman University on 1 January 2009. Since 2011, Beretz is also the President of the European Confederation of Upper Rhine Universities.